The Slovak Astronomical Society at the Slovak Academy of Sciences was established at the founding congress on December 16, 1959, as the Czechoslovak Astronomical Society at the Slovak Academy of Sciences based in Tatranská Lomnica. It bears its current name, SAS at the SAS, since April 1, 1966. It survived most of its existence until November 1989 under the pressure of ideological currents, which considered astronomy to be the main bearer of the scientific worldview. After 1989, the Society was able to fully and freely devote itself to its main mission, the dissemination of scientific knowledge in the field of astronomy and related natural sciences.

At present, the activities of the Society are carried out in seven branches, in seven sections, and in two commissions. Its scientific and professional activities are concentrated mainly at the Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences in Tatranská Lomnica, P. J. Šafárik University in Košice, Comenius University in Bratislava, technical universities in Trnava and Zvolen, the Slovak Central Observatory in Hurbanovo, observatories and planetariums and astronomical groups throughout Slovakia.

The main activity of the Society is the popularization of astronomy among the general public, but especially among young people. Every year we organize dozens of lectures focused on important astronomical phenomena (eclipses, anniversaries, the transit of Venus, comets, meteor showers, and even the impact of a meteorite), a number of seminars and practices for students, knowledge competitions, and competitions focused on obtaining photographs of astronomical objects, and photographs associated with protection against light pollution.